Bahrain

As I’m writing this I realize I’m very thankful for my friends. They are helpful, take great care of me, but most of all I like them around. I’m single and live alone, so when I have my friends here it seems to make my house more a home. I am really starting to understand how important this hobby of mine is to me.  It not only is satisfying my craving for learning, travel and creativity but that it is an excuse to get my friends together.  I get to share this  crazy adventure and have them try the dishes I am making but more importantly, I get to enjoy their laughter and companionship without the focus on me being sick. It also has been super helpful in making me reflect on my experience and learn a ton about myself.

I have made it to Bahrain, which is the 13th country I have cooked. It has taken me only two years and 5 months to get here. I still have 193 countries to go. Which at this rate I will finish this project in about 25 years.  My cancer treatment is going to take about 10 years to complete. I’m curious and map the events together and find I will be in the tail end of the G’s when my treatment is done.

Cancer treatment

After mapping things out I realize that the cancer will only be a portion of my story and that makes me feel good. I will end up having more adventures with my food and friends than events around my sickness. With that being said I do think I should start speeding up the writing, so lets talk about Bahrain.

Bahrain is an Island country in the Persian Gulf. It actually is an archipelago of 33 islands.

Bahrain_map

Bahrain was one of the earliest areas to convert to Islam. It was originally under Arabian rule and then for a period of 80 years it was ruled by the Portuguese and then the Persian empire. Since 1783 it has been ruled by the Al Khalifa royal family. It is now one of the fastest growing economies in the Arab world, with banking and tourism being a large part of their economy.

Bahrain is an island nation, so what is produced on the island is limited and majority of the food is imported. They are heavily influenced by the Arabs and have a lot of dishes and flavor profiles common throughout the middle east. Historically, it has been a trading post, so it also has influences from India, Persia, and Europe.

I will be making:

  • Borani Esf Anaj
  • Chebeh Rubyan
  • Khubz
  • Kunafa
  • Machboos
Leave a Reply

