Baliq Levengi

Baliq Levengi is a traditional preparation of Azerbaijani stuffed fish.  It is stuffed with walnuts and pomegranates.

IMG_6286

Traditionally the fish is sturgeon, however I can’t find any so I go with this Thai Trout.

IMG_9707

Cut the fish open and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_9711

Stuff the fish with the stuffing.

 

IMG_9709

Seal the fish with skewers and bake.

IMG_9706

It comes out and the fish is perfectly flakey.  The stuffing of the pomegranate goes well with the fish.  It is yummy in this tummy!  Good enough for a special occasion like my brother coming to town!

My brother was one of my best friends growing up, so having him come to town is exciting and worthy of a celebration.  I wasn’t planning on having anyone come help me with my surgery.  I’m fiercely independent and figured I could do this on my own.  My friend Amanda keeps telling me that when I have surgery I am going to need to have someone there to take care of me.  She recommends that I have my mom, because for her surgery her mom was a great help.  I don’t see it.  I don’t find my mom relaxing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom, but when I don’t feel well I like quiet and not to interact.  This isn’t so much how my mom sees the world as she likes to be social.  So I imagine if she came I would be spending my time entertaining her rather than healing.  My brother called and offers to come stay with me for the surgery.  He lives on the east coast, so I hadn’t thought of asking him.  I find the offer extremely comforting, so I agree.  Amanda of course is happy with this news, but I’m nervous to tell my mom.  I think she might feel slighted, but oddly she is totally relieved too.  My brother got into town a few days before the surgery, so he can get himself familiar with my apartment.  I am just over the moon to be able to spend time with him and of course we both enjoy yummy food!


Recipes

 Baliq Levengi

Original recipe can be found here

  • Whole White fish scaled & cleaned
  • 1 Onion grated
  • 1 1/2 c Walnuts ground
  • 3/4 c Fresh pomegranate seeds
  • 1 tsp salt, split
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, split
  • 2 tsp Lemon juice

 

  1. Rinse fish under cold water then pat dry with paper towel.
  2. Combine onion, walnuts, pomegranate seeds, 1/2 ts salt, and 1/4 ts pepper.
  3. Pre-heat oven to 350 deg-F.
  4. Fill fish cavity with walnut stuffing.
  5. Pin body cavity shut with wooden barbecue skewers.
  6. Put fish on a baking sheet then pour lemon juice over it.
  7. Put fish on a baking sheet in an upright position with seam side down
  8. Bake for about 45 mins. until fish is browned & flakes easily with a fork.
One thought on “Baliq Levengi

Leave a Reply

