That was a mistake

In Azerbaijan, like many Middle Eastern countries, Kebabs are popular. Kebab means fried meat in Arabic and it is believed to have been invented by the Turks. I choose to make a lamb kebab, tika, and a fish kebab.

The first step is to marinate the lamb and fish. The lamb is marinated only with onions, while the fish is marinated with onions and sour cream. I marinate the meats for a few hours and then skewer it.

IMG_6259

IMG_6262

Next BBQ the meat. I cook the lamb to a medium rare and the fish until flakey. I server them on a bed of sliced onions and sprinkle with green onions and Sumac.

IMG_6267

In Azerbaijan it is customary to serve kebabs with a sauce called Narsharab. Actually they seem to serve this sauce on everything. You can buy Narsharab commercially or you can make it by boiling pomegranate juice. With the kebabs being relatively simple I figure making Narsharab will be easier than trying to find a commercial bottle in a store.

I buy a bottle of POM wonderful, which is supposed to be 100% pomegranate juice. I figure this is easier than trying to juice a pomegranate.

I boil the juice for an hour and put the narsharab in a serving bowl, but as it cools it seems to get less and less like a sauce and more like a solid mass. I do some research and find out the although POM is natural juice the distilling process creates more of a concentrate than a natural juice. The juice is higher in sugar than if you had juice a fresh pomegranate.

The meat is amazing. The lamb tastes like, well lamb. I really like it. It is tender and the sumac adds a bit of saltiness. The fish kebab tastes smokey from the BBQ with a hint of sour from the sour cream. The narsharab hardened so much by the time we sat to eat that we didn’t get to try it with the kebab.

IMG_6270

Well I had an equally disastrous dating experience lately. I have been online dating for a bit. I started to think it was going to be a great way to meet a man. For me the experience has been great at getting dates. I meet someone online, read their profile, and set-up a date. There seems to be a real possibility of meeting the man of my dreams and instead what I meet is a perfectly flawed human. Usually not so flawed that I agree to another date. However, in between the time of the next date I will get another prospect of prince charming and find myself dating multiple men at the same time. At some point I was dating seven men at once. It was a lot of work, time, and energy keeping things straight. Shortly after I was diagnosed with cancer, I realized online dating was not where I should be putting my energy. So I politely let all the men I was dating know that I have cancer and the ones I knew I wasn’t into I said I was concentrating on me. Luckily for me the ones that I liked still wanted to date me, so I was left with only three boys to juggle. This was way easier than before. Now before you judge me too much, we hadn’t discussed exclusivity, so I never expected this of them or imagined they would expect this of me.

My three boys were: Shane (who I wrote about at the start of our relationship). I was also dating Luke, who lived nearby and so I would see him often. Lastly Grant, who I had been dating for over a year. We had the exclusivity conversation, and it wasn’t for him. I thought I would meet my partner, but I figured while I’m looking why not have fun as well. We didn’t see each other that often but always had a great time.

I had gone out with some friends for dinner and we had a few drinks. I was headed home when I got a call from Grant. He was looking to see if I could suggest a bar and meet him and his friend for a drink. I suggested a place and grab a cab. While I am waiting for Grant and his friend to show at the bar, I got a text from Luke to see if I wanted to hang out. He was in a neighborhood nearby and I said sure. Okay, so two things. I am tipsy, so not the greatest judgment, and I meant I would hang out with him AFTER I was done with drinks with Grant. I really need to get a breathalyzer for my cell phone. Anyway the bar closed, but Grant and I still wanted another drink so we were figuring out if they had a hotel bar. Then I heard my name. I look and Luke is standing on the street. My mind says SHIT. I didn’t think he would just show up. I give him a hug and say “Hey, I meant later, I’m still hanging with my friends.” That didn’t go over so well. He stared at the two men, cursed me out and stormed off.

This is really not a proud moment for me, but neither was a spoon sticking straight up in the narsharab that I made. And if I could take it all back I would have made Narsharab from fresh pomegranate juice and gone home with Luke and just hugged Grant good night. Oh well, now I am down to only two boys I’m dating.

 


Recipes

Tika

Original recipe can be found here

  • 500 g/1 lb 1 oz lamb
  • 2 onion, divided
  • 1 bunch of green onions
  • sumac
  • Salt & Pepper
  1. Cut meat into cubes
  2. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  3. Marinate meat with sliced onion for at least an hour
  4. Thread the marinated lamb pieces onto skewers and BBQ
  5. Slice the remainng onion and lay skewers over, sprinkle with sumac and green onions.

Fish Kebab

Original Recipe can be found here

  • 1 lb 1 oz white fish
  • 1 oz sour cream
  • 2 onion, divided
  • 1 bunch of spring onions
  • lemon
  • vegetable oil
  • pinch of sumac
  • salt & pepper
  1. Cut fish into cubes
  2. Sprinkle with salt and pepper
  3. marinate with onion slices and sour cream for at least one hour.
  4.  Cook the kebabs on BBQ for 7 to 10 minutes, turning the skewers as the fish cooks.
  5. Slice the remainng onion and lay skewers over, sprinkle with sumac and green onions.
  6. Serve lemon slices separately.

Narsharab

Original recipe can be found here

  • 2 pomegranates
  • salt & pepper
  1. seed the pomegranates
  2. Pulse the seeds a few times in a blender.
  3. Strain out the juice
  4.  boil pomegranate juice for an hour on low heat, stirring constantly. 5 minutes before the end of the process add salt, and black pepper
Leave a Reply

