A Decision and a Country

Before I get into the facts of Azerbaijan (my last “A” country) I have made a choice on the type of surgery I am going to have.  My MRI results came back and they are a little bit more serious than I like. They see the lump that I had biopsied and it is 2cm long.  This is a bit longer than what was measured during the mammogram.  This isn’t something they are worried about as the mammogram image is not as good as the MRI, so why the torture of the mammogram?  They also see another mass that is 7mm right above the one I found. They can’t conclude that it is cancerous, but come on people!  I’m not an MD and can be relatively sure it is.  They see two other masses that are 4mm, one in the left breast and one in the right.  They are mirror images of each other, which makes them suspect of being cancerous.  Well the doctors may not be clear, but this is a no brainer for me.  I’ve never had lumpy boobs and I am not going to mess with it. So I’m getting a bilateral mastectomy and a boob job!  Now that I have made a decision onto Azerbaijan!

Azerbaijan is in Eastern Europe and Western Asia.  It is surrounded by the Caspian Sea, Russia, Georgia, Armenia, and Iran.

Azerbaijan_Republic_map

Azerbaijan claimed its independence from the Russian Empire in 1918 and became the first parliamentary republic in the Muslim world, only to be incorporated into the Soviet Union in 1920.  It again proclaimed its independence in 1991.  However during 1918 -1920 the parliament succeeded in becoming the first Muslim nation to grant women equal political rights with men.  They were also the second Muslim country to have operas, theaters, and major universities.

Out of 11 climate zones in the world Azerbaijan has 9 and this fact has impacted the cuisine.  The cuisine is known for an abundance of vegetables and greens.  Because of the closeness to the Caspian Sea they also have an abundance of fish in their dishes.  They also have over 40 different rice pilaf dishes or plov.

So for my last country in the A’s I’m going to make:

  • Baliq Levengi
  • Coban Salati
  • Dushbara
  • Plov
  • Shuyud plov
  • Soyug Salat
  • Fish Kebab
  • Tika

 

Leave a Reply

