Lomi lomi Salmon

The next test I need to take in order to figure out what kind of surgery I am going to have is  an MRI.  I’ve never had an MRI before.  I got to the appointment with of my two of my friends. The first thing is I have to get is an IV. This is so they can put a contrast liquid in me, which apparently is necessary for breast pictures.  I’m then told to lie down with my arms up; I imagine I look like a topless supergirl pretending to fly.  If only someone had only told me to bring my red cape!  They put ear plugs in my ears and told me I have to stay still for 15 minutes.  If I had implants it would be an hour!  Then the noise starts and it startles me, even with the ear plugs it is very loud.  I settle in and listen to the sounds.  At one point there is a rhythm that sounds like music from a rave, another where it just sounds like sirens blasting.  I make it through the 15 minutes, which was in a way more pleasant than a mammogram.  Why don’t we just do MRIs instead of mammograms?  Maybe if you have implants mammograms are better?  Anyway, while I wait for the results let’s get on to the food!!!

Lomi Lomi salmon is a traditional side dish that was introduced by early western sailors.  Lomi in Hawaiian means massage. The dish is made with salted salmon. The traditional method to salt the fish is to massage it in, hence the name Lomi Lomi Salmon.  The fish is chopped up and mixed with tomatoes and onions, which reminds me of salsa.

The first step is to salt the salmon. I use Hawaiian sea salt and pour it over the salmon and let it salt in the fridge for 3 days.

IMG_6149IMG_6150

After 3 days I soak the salmon in plain water for two hours to reduce the salt flavor.  You can adjust the salt to taste by soaking longer or shorter.  Then cut tomatoes.

IMG_6204

And onions.

IMG_6205

 

 

Cut the salmon.

IMG_6206

 

Cut green onions.

IMG_6207

And mix together.

IMG_6209

It is a yummy simple salsa with a slightly salty taste. I usually eat it with Kalua pig and rice.

Well this is it for my Hawaiian feast, for now.  Next I will be doing Azerbaijan, which is my last country with an A!!!!!  Progress!


Recipes

Lomi Lomi Salmon
  • 1lb salmon
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 3 Large tomatoes
  • 3 stalks green Onion
  • Hawaiian Sea salt
  1. Cover the salmon in salt.  Wrap in cellophane and leave in the refrigerator for 72 hours.
  2. Soak salmon in cold water for 1 hour, if salmon is very salty repeat the soak.
  3. Chop all the ingredients roughly the same size and combine in a bowl.
  4. Chill for at least an hour before serving.
Leave a Reply

