Meat Jun

The BRAC test came back negative, which means I guess I passed.  I have mixed feelings about this. It is nice to know that I don’t have the gene which would make me be susceptible to other cancers.  My parents are thankful that I can’t blame them, and the rest of the family doesn’t have to get this test.  The odd part is I don’t have a lot of family history for cancer, so now I just feel unlucky.  As I’m feeling mixed up I might as well focus on food and make some Meat Jun!

Hawaii is a melting pot of different cultures and so the local cuisine often takes popular dishes from other cultures and blends them to make their own, and meat Jun is no different.  Jun is a Korean batter that they use to batter things like fish.  In Hawaii we of course adopted the dish and do it with meat.  This is one of my favorite dishes and it has taken me years to find the recipe, because I keep asking Korean people how to make it. They never knew what it was as Jun with meat isn’t as popular.  Its more common with with seafood and veggies.  However, I finally found it and I’m going to make it for my friends.

The first step is to thinly slice the meat.  My butcher couldn’t do it, so I had to.  The best way is to freeze the meat

IMG_6162

Then cut into thin slices.

IMG_6164

I lost patience and my knives need to be sharpened so it’s not totally thin, oh well…  Next I marinate it in a kalbi marinade and let it sit overnight.

IMG_6168

 

Then batter the meat with egg and flour.

IMG_6220

Then fry.

IMG_6221

Create a dipping sauce of soy sauce and vinegar.  It comes out amazing and tastes like home.  Not the prettiest but very yummy!

IMG_6224


Recipes

Kalbi Marinade
  • 2/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon roasted and ground sesame seeds
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onions
  • 2 lbs meat

Mix ingredients together and marinate meat.

Meat Jun

Original recipe can be found here

  • 2 lbs marinated meat, thin slices
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups flour
  • oil for frying
  1. Pour flour into a flat pan.
  2. Dip marinated meat pieces in flour.
  3. Transfer meat into beaten eggs.
  4.  Fry until golden brown.
  5. Drain on paper towels.

Meat Jun Dipping Sauce
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 2 stalks green onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Sesame seeds, roasted & crushed

Mix ingredients together.

One thought on “Meat Jun

Leave a Reply

