Huli Huli Chicken

When I grew up, schools would often sell Huli Huli Chicken at fundraisers.  Huli in Hawaiian means turn.  The way that you cook this chicken is to baste it with a sauce and then turn.  You turn it every 5 minutes while cooking, so it is called Huli Huli chicken.

The first thing you do is make the Huli Huli sauce.  I like to marinate my chicken in the sauce.

IMG_6174

 

Traditionally, you are supposed to bbq the chicken.  However, I don’t have a bbq, so I broiled it in my oven. Every 5 minutes I basted with the Huli Huli sauce and turned it over to baste the top.

IMG_6223

Then cook until the chicken seems done.

IMG_6227

 

It is sweet and tangy from the sauce.  It reminds me of home and a warm hug.  After a week of doctors appointments, I realize that I miss Shane.  I realize it is totally silly and superstitious to think that if I date him the rest of my life will fall apart.  It already is falling apart or at least I’m feeling very mortal and life is short.  So I apologize to Shane.  I tell him that I am stressed and probably taking things out on him and am really sorry. Lucky for me he forgives me and we agree to meet soon.  I’m a happy girl!

Another simple dish that reminds me of Hawaii is Namasu.  Which is a Japanase dish of pickled cucumbers.  I grew up eating the dish and love it.

First step is to sweat the cucumbers for 30 minutes.

IMG_6176

Then make the pickling sauce which is rice vinegar, ginger, and garlic. Add the sliced cucumber and pickle at least over night. It tastes like what it sounds like, pickled cucumber.

IMG_6177


Recipes

Huli Huli chicken
  • 4 lbs chicken legs
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup Brown sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons Sherry
  • 1 piece of ginger root
  • 2 cloves of Garlic, crushed.
  1. Combine ketchup, soy sauce, brown sugar, sherry, ginger, and garlic.
  2. Marinate chicken for at least 4 hours or overnight.
  3. Place on bbq or broil pan
  4. Every 5 minutes turn the chicken over and baste. Typically cooks for 20 minutes.

Namasu
  • 1 Japanese Cucumber
  • 1/4 cup Rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Minced Ginger
  1. Slice cucumbers.  Sprinkle with salt and let stand for 30 minutes.
  2. Rinse, drain, and squeeze out extra water.
  3. combine ingredients and chill overnight.
Leave a Reply

