Spam Musubi

To figure out what type of surgery I need I have to get tested for BRAC.  BRAC is a gene mutation that if you have it will significantly increase your chance of getting breast, ovarian, pancreatic, and prostate cancer.  I went to my breast surgeons office to have the test administered and it was crazy simple.  A nurse came in with a kit that had a pamphlet with information about BRAC, an empty cup, and two bottles of scope.  She explained in detail the importance of BRAC and what the risks are and then administered the test.  Which was having me swish my mouth with the scope in a cup and spitting into an empty cup. I hope the rest of my appointments are this simple.  Well, on to one of my favorite snack foods of Hawaii.

Musubi is a rice ball originally from Japan, which is also know as onigiri.  Musubi can be served with a variety of things:  eggs, salmon, plum, etc.  In Hawaii they have a version with Spam.  Spam was introduced to Hawaii during World War II and now 50% of Spam is consumed in Hawaii.  Spam musubi is just one of the ways that spam is prepared on the islands.

I like to have my spam musubi with teriyaki sauce.  When I first moved to the mainland I noticed the teriyaki sauce was brown and gelatinous, which wasn’t like the sauce I grew up with.  I have later learned that this is Seattle style, I’m still not a big fan.  Anyway I didn’t trust what was in the markets so I learned to make my own teriyaki sauce, which is simple.  So now that’s what I do.

Combine soy sauce, ginger, brown sugar, and garlic.  It needs to sit for 48 hours.

IMG_6173

Then to make the musubi cook white rice, either use sushi rice or short California rice grain.  Let the rice cool.  Fry the spam, I like mine crispy.

IMG_6184

Then pour teriyaki sauce into the pan and cook it for about a minute.  You want it to thicken a bit.  Add the spam back to the pan and allow the teriyaki to glaze the spam.

IMG_6186

I have a spam musubi maker, which makes it way easier.

IMG_6189

Put the rice at the bottom and press down to mush the rice together.

IMG_6193

Sprinkle with furikake on the rice and layer with two pieces of spam.

IMG_6194

Cut the rice block in half between the spam slices.

IMG_6196

Then take a slice of nori and wrap it around the rice and spam in the middle of the musubi.

IMG_6199

There you have a yummy spam musubi.

IMG_6197


Recipes

Teriyaki Sauce
  • 1 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1″ piece fresh ginger, sliced and crushed
  1. Mix together all ingredients until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Let it sit for 48 hours before using.

Spam Musubi
  • 6 cup of sushi rice (there will be left over rice)
  • 1 can of Spam, sliced
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Nori, cut into strips
  • Furikake
  1. Cook rice and let cool.
  2. Fry the spam until desired crispness.
  3. Put Teriyaki Sauce in the pan cook for a minute to get the sauce a bit thicker.
  4. Add spam back to the pan and glaze both sides with Teriyaki sauce.
  5. Scoop rice into a spam musubi maker until almost full.
  6. Smash the rice down and remove from the musubi maker.
  7. Sprinkle Furikake on the rice.
  8. Top the rice with two pieces of spam.
  9. Cut between the spam pieces
  10. Wrap nori around the spam and rice.
Leave a Reply

