Kasespatzle

I am a macaroni and cheese lover.  It is one of my comfort foods.  I will admit that I still eat Kraft macaroni and cheese when I feel sick or blue.  Okay who am I kidding I eat it when I feel like it, which is at least once a month if not more.  Biopsy day is definitely deserving of a Kraft macaroni and cheese.

My biopsy was a painful experience.  They first give me an ultrasound mammogram to view the lump and see where they are going to biopsy.  Then they numb my boob up to take the sample.  Unfortunately it wasn’t enough numbing cream and I felt it. The device that they take the sample sounded like a gun.  Then it felt like a hot stapler gun was shot into my boob.  I never had this experience, but this is the best way I can described it.  They have to take multiple samples of the boob, so they have to load me up with more numbing cream and do another extraction.  I hear the gun shot and jerk, but I don’t feel a thing.  They decide that the two samples were enough.  However my torture was not finished.

They have to put in a titanium ball to mark where they biopsy.  This is important to mark where they biopsy, so they don’t biopsy the same spot.  They but in the ball, but to make sure it is placed right they need to do another mammogram.  So I take my bruised boob squish and image it.  Well at least I have an excuse for a macaroni and cheese night and Kasepatzle is Austrian macaroni and cheese.  Well it isn’t really made out of macaroni but spätzle.  Which translates to little sparrows. Originally spatzel was made by hand with a spoon and thus the shape was like a sparrows, hence the name.

The first step is to make the spatzel.  The dough is an egg pasta dough and it comes out sort of wet.  To make the pasta you can get a spatzel maker or they describe that you can use a steamer to scrape the dough over boiling water. I  go with the steamer method as I don’t need a speciality tool sine I’m not sure how often I will make this.  Kraft mac and cheese is way quicker.  Well the idea is that you place the dough in the steamer.

IMG_1030

Then scrape it around and you are to get thin strains of pasta that come out.  For me it is an epic fail.  The dough starts to cook over the boiling water and literally nothing drops in the water.  I move on to hand rolling the dough.  First you need  to the roll the dough into a long stick.

IMG_1031

Then break it off and keep rolling until smaller and smaller.  Little worm like pasta is the goal.

IMG_1033

Then boil it in water.  Since it is fresh it doesn’t take long.

IMG_1035_2

However the pasta looks fat to me.  I think I got lazy in rolling out the pasta too thin.  Oh well it will have to do as I don’t have the energy to remake it.

Well now you add the spatzel, butter, and cheese to the pan and the kasespatzle is done!

IMG_1042

You can add fried onions and chives as well.  I totally forgot from the stress of making the spatzel.  Oh well the result is good. It is a cheese pasta.  As expected my spatzel is dense, but has good flavor.  I would like to try the real thing before making it again.  Until then I will stick to my Kraft mac and cheese.

 


 

Recipes

Kasespatzle

The Original Recipe can be found here

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1¼ cup milk  (start with one cup and add remaining ¼ cup as needed)
  • 6 tbsp butter, divided
  • 14 oz cheese, grated Gruyère cheese
  • 2 mid-sized onions, cut in rings
  • 2 tbsp chives, chopped
  1. Add the flour, salt and nutmeg to the bowl of a stand mixer.  Stir to combine.  Crack the eggs into a small bowl and whisk them.  Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour the eggs in it.  Add the milk.  Attach a dough hook to the stand mixer and “knead” the dough for 18-20 minutes, or until bubbles appear.
  2. Heat 2 tablespoons of butter in frying pan over low to medium heat, add onions, and let them slowly gain a golden brown color.  Drain on a paper towel, then set aside.
  3. Bring at least 2 quarts of lightly salted water to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Using a Spätzle maker of your choice, press the noodles into the simmering water and cook for about 2-3 minutes, or until the noodles float to the top.  Use a slotted spoon to transfer the noodles to a colander, and then dump the noodles.
  4. Melt 4 tablespoons of butter, add noodles, and cheese.
  5. To serve, top with brown onions and chives.
Leave a Reply

