Lipatuer

I’m young, 39, which means I am not required to have an anual mammogram.  I  recently heard that they increased the minimum age requirement for mammograms from 40 to 50 and are suggesting that it only needs to happen every 2 years.  In my case I have a lump which they need to image, so the mammogram is a new experience for me.  For some reason I keep calling it a monogram.  A Monogram would be a much more pleasent experience.  They have me stand next to a gigantic machine, stand on my tippy toes, while they squeeze my boob between a plastic vice.  They squeeze my boob so it is flat.  They ask me to hold the postion and not breathe.  To stay stable I have to awkwardly hug this giant cold metal machine.  Then they take a picture, adjust and take some more.  They image both boobs, and do extra images on the left side where my lump is.  It probably was no more than 30 minutes, but it felt like hours.  I’m told because I have tiny boobs that this is much more uncomfortable for me.  Really!!???  This can’t be comfortable for anyone.  We are in the modern day.  There has to be a better way to do this!  Or at least make the machine in the shape of something I want to hug!

They review the image in the same appointment.  They confirm I have a lump and it does look suspicious, so they take me to do an ultra sound mammogram.  I lie down, they put some jelly on my boob and rub a wand around.  This is much more comfortable than the other torture device.  I really am not clear why we didn’t just start and end there.  Well, I get to see the lump and based on what they see I need to get a biospsy.  I have to make a different appointment for that,  so for now I will just move on to more pleasant things — food!


In 1784 Austrian Emperor Joseph II permitted all residents to open establishments to sell and serve self produced wines, which is how Heurigen (Austrian wine-drinking taverns) came about.  They are usually only open for 2-3 weeks in the fall and feature the winemakers most recent wines.  They serve wine and a limited selection of food, and lipatuer is one of the things commonly served.  lipatuer is a cheese spread.  So wine and cheese, what a better thing for me to make?

The Liaptuer recipe I have calls for quark.  I have never heard of quark before.  It is a cheese that is common in German speaking countries.  It is similar to cottage cheese or farmers cheese.  I thought it would be super hard to find, so I first went to a store with a huge cheese selection, couldn’t find it.  Went to Whole Foods and couldn’t find it.  I gave up and thought I would have to use cottage cheese, but there it was at my local market!

IMG_1017

Lipatuer is fairly simple to make.  Just combine chives, onions, cornichons.

IMG_1021

With quark, salt, garlic, white wine vinegar, paprika, and you have a spread.

IMG_1022

It’s traditionally serverd with rye bread and pickled red onions.

IMG_1036

The result is delicious.  It seems simple but it is a complex bite.  There is the tartness from the of the cornichons, pickled onion combined with the rye and creaminess of the cheese.  I see why it would go perfectly with wine.


 

Recpies

Lipatuer

Original recpie can be found here

  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, soften
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) quark
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped cornichons
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • 1 tablespoon grated onion
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne
  • Lightly toasted sliced rye bread
  • Pickled Red Onions
  1. Mash garlic and 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt in mortar with pestle until paste forms.
  2. Using electric mixer, beat butter in medium bowl until smooth and creamy.
  3. Add garlic paste, quark, and next 6 ingredients; fold to combine.
  4. Cover and chill. Let stand at room temperature 1 hour, then stir before using.
  5. Serve with rye toast and drained Pickled Red Onions.


 

Pickled Red Onions

Original Recpie can be found here

  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • ½ small red onion, thinly sliced
  1. Bring vinegar, salt, and 1 cup water to a boil in a small saucepan.
  2. Remove from heat. Stir in onion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

