Austria

Austria is a landlocked country surrounded by the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.

au-map

 

After the collapse of the Holy Roman empire, Austria was invaded by several rulers.  In the 14th and 15th centuries the Habsburg Empire took rule until the end of World War I in 1918.  The first Austrian Republic was established in 1919.  In 1938 Austria was occupied and annexed by Nazi Germany.  At the end of World War II Austria’s constitution was restored, but it was occupied by the Allies.  In 1955 Austria was re-established as a sovereign state.

Austria’s official language is German, with the next largest speaking population being Turk.  Austria is of course known for their music and culture with amazing composers coming from the 18th and 19th century.  Austria also had scientists, psychologists … But did you know-  Austria was among the most successful football playing nations on the European in 1930 – 1980. However, recently Austrian football has not been as successful.  All this sports talk is making me hungry!

Austria’s cuisine is  mainly the royal cuisine of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, which is known for its beef and pork dishes, along with baked goods such as Krapfen and strudel.  Austrian cusine is also been influenced by Hungarian, Bohemian Czech, Jewish, Italian, Balkan and French cuisine.

Beer is important to the culture, with the most popular being lager or Märzen.  Austria of course produces wine.  But they also produce Schnapps from small distilleries.

I can go on with more facts that I found.  I am totally fascinated and really enjoy researching these countries.  It makes me feel like I travelled there.  I recently was researching for a girls trip I was going on to Verness.  I looked everywhere and could not find any information.  I found this odd, the girls kept telling me we would be in Verness.  So I tried different spellings, started to study the map of California and finally I had to ask.  It turned out that the town is called Inverness.  We all had a good laugh at my mistake.  I had a great trip and it reminded me no matter what the results are I want to live and keep laughing even if it is at myself.

Well I love to digress but for Austria I am making:

 

Leave a Reply

