Green Curry Chicken Pot Pie

Yes, this is an Australian dish.  Apparently, Australians love Thai food and in particular green curry.  They also love their meat pies and so someone in Australia decided to combine these two and now it is a national treasure.  I also read on a bunch of sites that this is something you have to try once in your life.  I’m only a mere mortal, and with time ticking I’m going to have to try this dish!

I had my OB/GYN appointment, who confirmed that I do indeed have a lump.  I found the process ironic.  I hadn’t used my health insurance from my new job yet and found out my co-payment for the appointment is $80.  The appointment wasn’t even 30 minutes!!!  I basically paid someone 80 bucks to feel up my breasts and give me information I already knew.  The useful thing is I got the mammogram test approved and scheduled.   Well, feeling taken advantage of, I want a distraction.  So  I have to try this green curry pot pie that is all the rave!

First step is to make a curry paste.

IMG_5161

Then make a curry sauce.

IMG_5165

Then cook the chicken and the zucchini in the curry sauce.

IMG_5167

 

Top with a few layers of phyllo dough.

IMG_5171

 

Bake.

IMG_5175

I find the curry bland and the phyllo just dissolves with the water.  This dish would not be on my must eat list before I die.  To improve it, I would suggest marinating the chicken in the paste for 30 minutes.  Thicken the sauce with corn starch and use puff pastry rather than phyllo dough.

Well this is it with Australia. I can’t say that it has been a culinary adventure, but my life sure has changed.  I did like making the snags and the sausage rolls.  Next country to cook is Austria!


 

Recipes

Green Curry Chicken Pot Pie

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1 cup chopped lemongrass (from 4 stalks)
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup chopped garlic (about 16 cloves)
  • 1/2 cup chopped scallions (about 4)
  • 6 serrano chiles, thinly sliced
  • 4 tablespoons chopped peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 tablespoon finely grated lime zest, plus 4 tablespoons fresh lime juice (from 4 limes)
  • 2 tablespoon coriander seeds, toasted and ground
  • 4 teaspoons cumin seeds, toasted and ground
  • 2 teaspoon whole black peppercorns, toasted and ground
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt, divided
  • 1 cup spinach, rinsed well and dried
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk, preferably Thai Kitchen (thaikitchen.com)
  • 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 zucchini, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 sheet of puff pastry
  • 1 tablespoons melted unsalted butter, for brushing
  1. Make the curry paste:  puree lemongrass, cilantro, garlic, scallions, chiles, ginger, lime zest and juice, coriander, cumin, peppercorns, and 1 teaspoon salt in a food processor until smooth.

  2. Marinate chicken in 1/2 of the curry paste for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Make the curry sauce:  puree spinach, coconut milk, with remaining curry paste in blender until smooth.

  4. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Make the filling:  bring curry sauce to a simmer in a medium straight-sided skillet.  Whisk in flour, and simmer until thickened, about 2 minutes.  Add chicken and pepper and cook for 15 minutes.  Add zucchini, and cook until slightly tender, about 5 minute.

  5. Make the topping:  transfer filling to a 9-by-12-inch (8-cup) baking dish.  Top with puff pastry dough.  Brush dough with melted butter.  Sprinkle top with salt.  Bake until phyllo is golden and filling is bubbling, about 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

