Sausage roll

Sausage roll is a sausage rolled in puff pastry.  It was most likely invented in Britain and then brought to Australia through the first colonies.  This is widely popular and served for lunch or as an appetizer at a party.  Sausage roll is reminiscent of the American pigs in a blanket.  Again not the most adventurous food, but I have some left over snags so why not use them for this.

My friend Isaac threw a fabulous party for which these would have been perfect for.  I actually made quail eggs with Caviar for the party which went with all the champagne that was flowing.  There were 12 of us and we had a fabulous night of meeting new friends, catching up with old friends, with lots of laughter and fun.  There was a moment, when I sat back and listened to everyone chatter and laugh around the table.  Usually people enjoying each other makes me happy, but at that moment I was reminded that I have a lump.  It wasn’t a moment where I was unhappy, but not knowing my future made me aware I miss these moments as I felt mortal again.  I have to say this is now my least favorite feeling.  It isn’t a feeling of sadness, much more like when you have stopped reading your favorite book.  It was a great experience but it is done.  You can always go back and  reread the book or find another great book.  Life is a little more complicated,  I’m not sure what is next.  Well, back to much more fun and positive things, cooking!

Instead of buying sausage I break down my beautiful snags. I mix the snags with some onion and seasoning.

IMG_5090

Then roll pre-made pastry dough to a square.

IMG_5095

Yup that is a picture of me with a messy bun.  The first one to make it into this blog.  This is what happens when you give your cameraphone to your friend after they have wine.

Cut the roll into slices.

IMG_5097

Spread the sausage mix onto the dough.

IMG_5100

Roll the dough lengthwise.

IMG_5108

 

Cut the roll into bite size pieces.  I cut it like I would sushi.

IMG_5104IMG_5105IMG_5103

Sprinkle with paprika.

IMG_5112

Bake.

IMG_5113

The result is scrumptious.  The butter from the puff pastry is yummy with the grease.   The  flavor of the sausage is very predominant.  I eat a lot of them as they are yummy bites.  Not the healthiest thing in the world, but a good treat for a mortal girl.  As I eat another bite and embrace my mortality I wonder what I will do when I finish this hobby?


Recipes

Sausage rolls

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1-1/4 pounds bulk beef sausage
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons minced chives
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh basil or 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 package (17.3 ounces) frozen puff pastry, thawed
  1. In a large bowl, combine the sausage, onion, chives, basil, garlic, 3/4 cayenne pepper, salt and pepper.
  2. Unfold pastry onto a lightly floured surface.  Roll each pastry sheet into an 11-in. x 10-1/2-in. rectangle.  Cut widthwise into 3-1/2-in. strips.
  3. Spread 1/2 cup of sausage mixture down the center of each strip.  Fold pastry over and press edges together to seal.  Cut each roll into eight pieces.
  4. Place seam side down on a rack in a shallow baking pan.  Sprinkle with paprika.
  5. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

 

One thought on “Sausage roll

Leave a Reply

