Chiko roll

While at my desk writing, I get an itch under my arm and give myself a scratch.  I feel a lump under my arm on my left side.  I check under my arm on my right and I don’t feel the same thing.  I try to move my arm in different positions and check under my right and my left arm.  Same result feels like a lump on my left and don’t feel the same on my right.  My mind races, I know it is a lump, I might have cancer, I might die.  I sit with my head in my hands and cry.  I compose myself a bit and look out the window behind my monitor and I just feel mortal.  It is a brand new feeling for me and I can’t help but cry.   After I calm myself I call my Obgyn and make an appointment for a breast exam.  I decided to but my energy into writing and get the lump out of my head for a bit.


Chiko roll is inspired by the Asian spring and egg roll.  It is a fried roll filled with cabbage, carrots, and  seasonings.  It was invited to be eaten at the Australian football matches.

It seems to be a manufactured food, but raved about.  I find a few recipes for how to make the dish at home.  Since this seems to be a unique Australian dish, I decided to try a homemade recipe.

Fry up lamb with a lot of Chinese five spice seasoning.  The recpie calls for 2/3 cups of five spice.  It seem ludicrous to me, so I cut it down to 2 tablespoons.

IMG_5119

Add cabbage and other vegetables

IMG_5121

 

The mixture is to be folled like a spring roll.

IMG_5123IMG_5124IMG_5125IMG_5126IMG_5127

Deep fry it.

IMG_5129

 

 

And its ready!

IMG_5131

This looks yummy, but the 5 spice is way over powering.  That is all you can taste and it isn’t good.  I would cut this down significantly on the 5 spice.  The dish is about as disappointing as my day.  No, may day is worse, I have a lump.


Recipes

Chiko roll

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1 lb ground lamb
  • 1 cup  cabbage (shredded 1/4 inch)
  • 1 medium carrot, julienned
  • 1celery rib, finely sliced
  • 2 green onions, finely sliced lengthways
  • 1/2 cup cooked barley
  • 12  cup cooked rice
  • 1 lemon, grated zest only
  • 1/3cup light soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup oyster sauce
  • 2 teaspoons five-spice powder
  • 3 tablespoons ground allspice
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 tablespoons light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 package of spring roll wrappers, thawed if frozen (available from Asian supermarkets)
  • 1 tablespoon hot water
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil, plus extra for deep-frying
  • pinch of sea salt
  •  pinch of fresh ground white pepper
  1. Heat a wok until smoking and add the peanut oil, then add the mutton and stir-fry for a minute simply to warm through – season with the soy sauce, the all spice and the five-spice powder – remove from the wok and set aside to cool for 10 minutes.
  2. Wipe the wok clean with absorbent kitchen paper.
  3. Put the grated ginger, the celery, the spring onions and the julienned carrots into a bowl as well as the mutton, the cabbage, the rice, the barley and season with the lemon zest, the oyster sauce, the soy sauce, the sugar, the sea salt and ground white pepper to taste and stir well to combine.
  4. Lay three spring roll wrappers one on top of the other and position so that the corners are pointing upwards, downwards and to the sides.
  5. Spoon 2 tablespoons of the filling into the centre of the wrapper, brush each corner of the wrapper with water and then bring the 2 opposite corners on the sides together and, keeping your finger on the edges, bring the bottom corner towards the middle and then roll the pastry up tightly towards the top corner.
  6. Tuck the top edge in and seal with water – repeat with the rest of the remaining spring roll wrappers and the rest of the filling.
  7. Heat the wok over a high heat and fill the wok to a quarter of its depth with some peanut oil and when warm – lower the spring rolls in small batches and fry until golden brown – remove and drain on kitchen paper.
  8. Serve immediately.
One thought on “Chiko roll

Leave a Reply

