Snags

In Australia, snag means many things; like a submerged tree stump, unexpected drawback, and a sensitive new-age guy.   No, I’m not cooking the sensitive new-age guy, I’m making sausages.  Which is also what a snag means.  The use of snag as a sausage probably comes from British dialect, which refers to a snag as a light meal.

In Australia, sausages are made from beef, pork, or chicken.  They come in two varieties:  thin and thick.  I decided to make a thick snag.  It isn’t the most exotic food, but I really want to try and use my sausage maker again.

I cut up the meat and grind it.  I think I’m getting the hang of the grinder,  as I have no issues with the meat.

IMG_0755

Now time to make sausages! T his recipe calls for pig intestine as the casing.  Getting the casing on the tube ends up being  way easier than the lamb casing.

IMG_0761

Turn on my kitchen aid and there I have it.  The skin blows into a bubble.

IMG_0765

And it works!!! I am making sausage!!!

 

IMG_0769

Look at this beautiful long sausage!!!

IMG_0770

 

I just twist to make the links.

IMG_1086

Then marinate overnight, so all the flavors settle.  I’m gonna make the snag like a hot dog with grilled onions.  Cook the onions in beer and balsamic vinegar.

IMG_1104

Fry the Snag and put in a bun with some greens.

IMG_1108

 

Okay, I need to work on my presentation skills.  It is yummy though.   No new Earth shattering flavors, but a solid sausage.  I’m probably more proud that I was able to get the sausage attachment on my kitchen aid to work.

Totally unrelated to cooking and sausages, but just as exciting of a moment.  My friend Isaac is a hair dresser and he does my hair.  With my mom in town, he and I decided a great gift would be to treat her to a makeover.  I take her on a girl’s day shopping trip to Neiman Marcus, he colors and cuts her hair.  She looks fabulous and feels like Cinderella!  She has never been taken care of in that way and a great way to enjoy her trip.  I guess she is gonna stick with her crazy retirement idea!


 

Recipes

Snags

Original recipe can be found here

  • 2 lbs chuck steak, cut in cubes
  • 1  cup  of freshly prepared breadcrumbs
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 2 small garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • 1 tbs chopped fresh rosemary
  • Collagen casing
  1. Grind steak and garlic together.
  2. Combine ground steak and remaining ingredients together, other than casing.
  3. Use a sausage stuffer to stuff ground meat into casing.
  4. Twist into links
  5. Marinate in fridge for 24 hours before using.

Snags with onions cooked in beer

Original recipe can be found here

  • 6 red onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup lager
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 12 sausages
  • 12 small bread rolls
  • Mustard, to serve
  • Arugula, to serve
  1. Place onion in a pan with lager, sugar, balsamic, oil and 1/2 cup water.  Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low and cook for 40 minutes or until thick and rich, stirring occasionally to prevent onion catching on the base of the pan.

  2. Meanwhile, preheat a barbecue or chargrill pan to medium-high.  In batches if necessary, cook the sausages, turning, for 6-8 minutes or until cooked through.

  3. Warm the bread rolls in a low oven, then split through the middle, without slicing all the way through.  Fill the rolls with mustard, sausages, caramelized onion and arugula
One thought on “Snags

Leave a Reply

