Tarta pascualina

Tarta is a tart and it can be filled with savory or sweet. Pascualina in Spanish is the word for Easter, so this means easter time tart. It was brought over to Argentina by Italian immigrants. It is traditionally served during lent as it is a savory meatless spinach pie.

I mix togther ricotta, spinach, and seasonings together, which will be the filling of the pie.

IMG_4779

 

I line my pie pan with store-bought pie dough. I know I could have made my own pie crust, but I have proven my baking skills and want to do something a bit easy.  Then I add the filling.

IMG_4784

 

This is where this pie gets interesting. I make divots in the pie with my fingers. I should have gotten a manicure for this pic.

IMG_4786

 

Then crack 6 eggs into the divots. Man, Argentina loves their hard boiled eggs.

IMG_4791

 

Top it with the second pie crust. Brush with egg yolk and make some more divots.

IMG_4800

 

Bake it and it comes out. It is extremely rich and dense with the cheese and the hard boiled egg. Also the store bought pie dough seems overly dense, maybe I should have made my own. But it is a great decadent savory dish perfect for brunch or a special holiday.

IMG_4807

 

Well this concludes Argentina for me. I really loved visiting the country and my favorites are the Chimichurri, Empenadas, and Dulce de Leche Pionono. My next stop is Armenia.


Recipes

Tarta pascualina

Orginal recipe can be found here

  • 2  pie crusts
  • 2 packages (9 oz.) frozen spinach, defrosted.
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 6 eggs
  • butter, for greasing pan
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place the spinach in a linen towel, and squeeze out to drain the moisture from the spinach.  Not until it’s totally dry, leave a little moisture.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix together the spinach, crushed garlic, ricotta, and the mozzarella and parmesan cheeses.
  4. Season with the nutmeg, salt and pepper, and mix well to combine.
  5. Dissolve the cornstarch in the milk, and add the milk mixture to the spinach and cheese mixture and stir well until incorporated.
  6. Grease the bottom of your pie pan with butter.
  7. Line the bottom of your pie plate with one of the tarta shells.
  8. Put the filling into the shell.
  9. Make 6 indentations in the filling (about one inch apart, and one inch from the edge of the pan) and crack an egg into each indentation.
  10. Cover the pie with the other tarta crust.
  11. Seal the edges by pinching together the two shells with your thumb and forefinger making an indentation.
  12. Slice a few vents in the top of the pie.
  13. Brush the top of the crust with beaten egg to give it shine.
  14. Bake for 45 minutes, until the crust has turned a golden brown on top.
  15. Slice and serve warm or at room temperature.

 

Leave a Reply

