Caribbean sushi

Caribbean Sushi, I know it doesn’t sound so traditional, but I just really found the dish fascinating and wanted to give it a try. I found the recipe in the tablemanners cookbook which features Antiguian chiefs and the ingredients seem to be from the Caribbean.

The first step is to make the coconut-rice pudding. It is straightforward to make. It has a sweet creamy texture with a subtle hint of coconut. It is fairly yummy on its own.

While the rice pudding cools down I make the chocolate wrapper that is to act like nori. I’m not sure how this is going to work as I always think chocolate gets hard when it cools. I melt the dark chocolate and add some corn syrup. Then wrap it up and place it in the fridge for two hours.

IMG_4455

 

While the chocolate rests I make the mango sauce. I puree 2 fresh mangoes. The sauce tastes like a sweet mango.

IMG_4452

 

I take the chocolate out of the fridge. It was in there for more like 3 hours and some of the chocolate is soft, some parts are hard, and some parts are sticky and still melty. I remove the hard chocolate. I see if I can get some of it to soften with my hands. There isn’t much that is useable, but I think I have enough for one nori wrapper. With cocoa powder and some creative hand work I get a sad looking nori wrapper.

IMG_4469

 

 

I spread the rice pudding the way I would with sushi rice: spread thin and a little space at the top to seal.

IMG_4472

 

Then I add kiwi and strawberry down the middle

IMG_4475

 

 

Then I roll. It is hard to get the circular shape of Sushi. mine is a bit mushed. Maybe I need more rice pudding?

IMG_4477

 

Slice it and serve with the mango sauce.

IMG_4483

 

It isn’t the prettiest, but it is edible. It’s very decadent. No ingredient individually was overly sweet, but together it is rich.  The chocolate combined with the creaminess of the rice pudding is sweetened from the mango sauce and fruits. I’m thankful that I could only make one roll as I doubt anyone should eat this much dessert.

Well this concludes Antigua and Barbuda. I can’t say that I truly enjoyed any dish. However I am really looking forward to my next country Argentina; it’s a place I have actually visited!

 


Recipes

Caribbean sushi

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1 Cup of Sushi rice
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 2/3 cup of heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 mangos
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 7 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • 5 tablespoons corn syrup
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 kiwi
  • 6 strawberries
  1. Wash the rice.
  2. Combine rice, coconut milk, heavy cream, and 3/4 cup of water in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.
  3. Simmer for 20 minutes. Stir frequently
  4. Set aside and let rice cool completely.
  5. Pure mango in a blendor
  6. Whisk mango, corn starch and water in a small sauce pan.
  7. Cook on l0w heat for 20 minutes or sauce thickens. Stir frequently.
  8.  Melt chocolate in a double boiler.
  9. Mix in suryp.
  10. Divide chocolate in two and cover in plastic wrap. Place in the fridge for 20 minutes.
  11. Kneed by hand with cocoa powder until the chocolate is not sticky.
  12. Form into a square shape
  13. Spread rice pudding on the chocolate square. Leave about an inch at the top with out rice.
  14. Put the julienne fruit in a line in the middle of the rice.
  15. Roll like a sushi.
  16. Serve with mango sauce.

 

 

Leave a Reply

