Cargols estil Catalana

Cargols are snails and apparently Andorra is obsessed with them. They are typically made on a grill so the shells are a bit blackened with garlic, lemon and thyme. However I live in an apartment so I don’t have a grill. I find a recipe for it done in a Catalan style, which doesn’t require a grill.

All the recipes assume you will be doing it with live snails. I thought about it and I’m not totally sure how to get some and you have to starve them first. I’m not so sure I had the stomach to do this.  I have a friend that used to cook them using canned snails. He told me you can find them at whole foods. So I do research on how to prepare the canned snails and adapt the recipe.

The recipe is straightforward creating a broth with sausage and tomatoes.

IMG_4206

 

I rinse the snails and add them in and let them heat up. Canned snails are already cooked, so you just need to warm them up. This looks yummy.

IMG_4209

 

I have it with some bread. The sauce is slightly spicey with the chorizo and tomatoes and is delicious. It reminds me of a sauce I’ve had with mussels. I try the snails and the have a strong earthy flavor. I’m not so sure I like the flavor. I try another one and my stomach does a turn. I try another bite and my stomach screams it all back up.  I must have needed to wash the snails more or it is the wrong snail brand. I’m not sure but really disappointed and just eat bread to calm my stomach.

 


 

Recipes

Cargols estil Catalana

Original recipe can be found here.

  • 2 can of snails
  • 2 chorizo sausages
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 slices of bacon
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 Chili pepper
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup vegetable stock
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon pimenton
  1. Rinse snails in cold water.
  2. In a dutch oven fry bacon.
  3. Add Onion, chorizo, pepper, and garlic and cook for 5 minutes
  4. Add tomatoes, vegetable stock, salt, bay leaf, pepper, thyme, dill, paprika, and pimenton. Bring to a boil and simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Add white wine and snails and cook for 10 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

