Trinxat

Trinxat in catalana means sliced. This is consider one of the most famous dishes of Andorra. I have never heard of it and but I don’t know why: it is basically mash potatoes with garlic infused bacon grease. I’m surprised it isn’t all over the place in the US. Oh well maybe I can start a trend.

First you cook the cabbage and the potatoes. They should be cooked in different pots as they need different amounts of time to cook.  So either pull out two pots or cook them one at a time. I want to save on time, so I cook with two pots. While the potatoes and cabbage cook I fry up the pieces of bacon. Then I slice-up a whole head of garlic. This isn’t to eat but to infuse the flavor into the bacon, so the whole head is required. I can’t believe I haven’t done this before this is going to be good!

 

IMG_4165

 

 

You remove the garlic and set aside. Then the recipe says to mash the potatoes in the bacon grease in the pan. I cooked a whole packet of bacon, I don’t think I want to eat ALL the grease. So I pour off the oil then put back 3 tablespoons in to the pan. Add the Potatoes and cabbage and mash.

IMG_4167

 

This is disastrous, I didn’t pre-shred the cabbage  and so it is big clumps of cabbage and its hard to get to the potatos. I transfer to a bowl and pull out the cabbage and shred by hand. It is hot and I keep burning my fingers.  Next time I would mash the potatoes. Shred the cabbage and then mix them together and not a real reason to do this in the pan. Do it in a bowl.

IMG_4170

 

So you can make this as one big cake. To do that you fry it in the pan then get a plate to cover and flip. I can imagine this being completely distarous with either the plate falling to the floor, my hands burnt, and my dog getting an extra meal. So I make small cakes that I can flip with a spatula, much smarter than I was earlier in this recipe.

IMG_4173

 

 

I add back enough bacon grease to the pan and then fry them.  top with a few slices of garlic and a few slices of bacon. They look yummy!!!

IMG_4182

 

The result is awesome. It is what it sounds like bacon mashed potatoes. The cabbage seems to be more than a filler, but it adds some texture. There isn’t a strong garlic flavor so I would add more of the fried garlic to the mashed potatoes to get to a hint of garlic flavor. Over all not hard to make and delicious. Only a few minor glitches.


 

Recipes

 

Trinxat

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1 large cabbage, few outer leaves removed.
  • 2 lbs potatoes, peeled
  • 8 slices of bacon
  • 1-2 heads of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons salt + 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  1. In a pot fill with water and add 1 tablespoon of salt, bring to a boil. Add cabbage and cook for 45 minutes.
  2. In a pot fill with water and add 1 tablespoon of salt, bring to a boil. Add potatoes and cook until soft and ready for mashing; about 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, chop the bacon into 2 inch small pieces and sauté in a skillet over low heat with the fat it renders, until crisp or to your liking.
  4. Peel garlic and cut into slices, and sauté in the same bacon fat. When done, remove and set aside. Pour bacon grease into a bowl and set aside.
  5. When thoroughly cooked drain the cabbage and potatoes.
  6. Put potatoes in a bowl add 1 teaspoon salt, pepper, 3 tablespoons of the bacon grease, and about 4 cloves of  the fried garlic. Mash the potatoes.
  7. Shred the cabbage and discard the core.
  8. Mix the cabbage into the potatoes.
  9. Get a cookie cutter or circular mold and fill it with the potatoes mixture.
  10. Pour some of the bacon grease back in the pan, enough to coat and fry the formed potato till brown; about 10 minutes on each side.
  11. Garnish top with a few slices of garlic and bacon slices.

 

 

Leave a Reply

