Merguez sausage

Merguez sausage is a spicy lamb sausage.  It is associated with Morocco because it is wildly popular there. However it is believed to have originated in  Tunisia and Algeria. A butcher at whole foods once recommended it and I loved it. Excited now that I get to try and figure out how to make it and use my meat grinder. Also I ordered a sausage stuffer attachment as well, so I am going to try and stuff it.

I have no issues getting the ingredients and am excited to start. I start grinding and something is wrong; the meat doesn’t seem to be coming out of the grinder.  I stop the process and check and I have the blade on backwards. So I fix it and start again. The meat doesn’t look good and is slow to come out.

IMG_4126

 

Okay look again and look like the fat is getting stuck in the meat grinder. Reset all the parts and things look much better. I rerun the mush of meat and for the most part looks fairly good.

IMG_4128

Next to mix in the seasoning. There is a dizzying array of seasoning required for the Merguez spice. Well it turns out the blend makes a lot more than what you need in the sausage about a 1/2 cup. But the portions are really as small as you can get. I save the rest in a spice jar. Who know maybe I will use the blend for another recipe.

IMG_4129

 

I add the harissa and cilantro and do a little test patty to see the spice is right. It cooks and there is a lot of fat coming off of this. I realize that the lamb cut I had had fat as part of the pound and then I added an additon 4 oz of fat this is a bit too much. So next time either a pound of trimmed lamb or lessen the amount of added fat. The taste is perfect, but you are to marinate the meat for a bit longer. I do this over night as I wait for my sausage stuffing to get delivered.

The lamb intestine is a giant knot.

IMG_4232

I spend about 30 minutes untying it and get all but one knot undone. The casing is to be knotted at the end so I just cut it at the knot and end up with two pieces. Then ready to get this on to the sausage attachment. It takes some patients to get the casing onto the attachment.

IMG_4236

 

It keeps breaking as I push the casing on the attachment. I pull it all off. cut off the bad parts add some cooking spray and then try again.

IMG_4270

 

Much easier. Okay so I’m ready to start getting the sausage stuffed. I add meat and wait and nothing happens. Detache the attachment and the meat isn’t going into the tube. I look for instructions to see if I did something wrong and don’t find any.  So I remove the blade from the grinder and just add the stuffing tube. Turn it on and a little bubble forms with the casing, but after a few minutes no meat is coming out. I loose my patience and give up and fry it as a patty. the taste is awesome but I’m disappointed that I didn’t make a sausage.

 


 

Recipes

Merguez Sausage

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1 lb lamb shoulder or  leg
  • 4 oz  diced hard fat
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 teaspoons harissa
  • 2 tablespoon finely minced cilantro
  • 2 tablespoon merguez spice blend
  1. Grind the lamb, fat, and garlic together in a meat grinder.
  2. Mix in harissa, cilantro, and spice blend with meat.
  3. Let sit for 30 minutes.
  4. Stuff as a sausage in lamb intestine

Merguez spice blend

Original recipe can be found here

  • 1/4 cup sweet paprika
  • 2 tablespoons ground fennel seeds
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander seeds
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon sumac
  • 1/4 teaspoon caraway seed
  • 1/4 teaspoon ancho chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground pink pepper
  1. Mix all spices together in a bowl.

 

Leave a Reply

