Khobz Dar

Khobz Dar in Arabic means bread. Dar means home so this translates to house bread, or homemade bread. With my kitchen aid I feel confident that I’m ready to tackle a yeast dough.

The dough goes smoothly until the last step, where I need to add a cup of water. The recipe does warn that you may not need it all depending on the flour. I add some water and it is getting wet. I go to half of cup and it looks really wet. I start to realize that I must have been too cocky with all these new tools that this is gonna be a mess. I don’t have any more semolina to make another batch! I really don’t want to go to the store again, so I decided to stop at the 1/2 cup and go into kneading dough step and see what happens maybe I can add more flour to fix it. After 20 minutes of needing it looks like a dough and not so wet. So I don’t change anything. 2 hours later the dough has risen and ready to roll out and shape. Phew!

IMG_0168

I need to split it into four 6 inch disks.  The first dough ball I roll isn’t quite a circle…I really don’t have the hang of this circle thing. I think I need to get my friend’s mat.

IMG_0563

Second attempt not so bad, maybe I don’t need the mat.

IMG_0570

 

Third try…what shape is that!

IMG_0571

4th try is no better. So I’m going onto Amazon and going to get me that mat.

IMG_0572

 

I have to roll my malformed disks into 12 inch sticks. I have no idea what 12 inches is, which if I had the mat with the ruler I would know.  I just go with the size of my cookie sheet.

IMG_0172 IMG_0176 IMG_0183

The sticks don’t come out bad, so next step is to braid. I thought this would be hard and is like braiding really larger hair. It looks pretty good for my first try.

IMG_0583

 

I let the dough rest again. I do I see in the rising some of the braid broke.

IMG_0592

Decorate with sesame seeds. It is a bit messy.

IMG_0598

Pop it into the oven and fingers crossed. 30 minutes later and it comes out!  The top is crisp and the inside soft. The fennel seed is a nice flavor; there is a slight sweetness to the bread. It is perfect and yup this is totally going to my head. I think I can now tackle cakes!!!

IMG_0605

 


 

Recipes

Khobz Dar

original recipe can be found here

  • 3 Cups  fine semolina flour
  • 1/2 Cup canola oil
  • 1-1/2 Tsp. instant yeast
  • 1 Tsp. sugar
  • 1 Tsp. salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 Cup. warm 2 % milk
  • 1/2 Cup warm water
  • 3/4 Tsp fennel Seeds
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 Tsp water
  • Sesame  seeds
Instructions
  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the semolina and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the oil. Mix on low-speed for one minute. Add the yeast, sugar, milk, fennel seeds and beaten egg and mix until fully incorporated.
  2. With the mixer still on low-speed, gently add the water. You might need more or less water than suggested. It really depends on the semolina and the weather, but it is preferable to have a sticky dough then a dry dough.
  3. Keep mixing until you get a shaggy but cohesive dough. At this point, remove the paddle attachment and attach the dough hook.
  4. Knead on medium-speed until a shiny, elastic dough forms about 20 minutes. It will still be a bit sticky!
  5. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, turn once to coat, and cover with plastic food wrap and a kitchen towel. Let rise in a warm, draft-free spot until doubled in bulk, about 2 hours.
  6. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat and set aside. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured work surface.
To shape into a four-strand braided loaf
  1. Divide the dough into four equal parts
  2. Take one of the portions and flatten it into a six-inch disk. Roll the disk like a jelly roll.
  3. Using both hands roll it back and forth into a 12-inch strand. Keep even pressure on the dough as you roll so that no air pockets collect in the strand. Gently transfer the strand to the prepared cookie sheet. Repeat with the rest of the portioned dough and lay the strands side-by-side.
  4. Take the strand furthest to the right and weave it towards the left through the other strands using an over, under, over pattern. Repeat the exact same steps until you’ve braided the entire loaf.
  5. Gather all the loose strands and pinch them together. Gently tuck them underneath the braided loaf.
  6. Cover the loaf with some plastic food wrap and let it rest and rise for about 1 -1/2 hours.
  7. Preheat the oven to 350 °F.
  8. Prepare the egg wash by beating 1 whole egg with 1 Tsp water. With a pastry brush, brush a thin layer of the egg wash on the risen loaf and decorate it with sesame seeds.
  9. Bake the bread for about 25 to 30 minutes.
  10. If you can resist the temptation, it would be preferable to let it cool completely before serving.
Leave a Reply

