Gosh-e Fil

Gosh-e Fil is a pastry served in Afghanistan and Iran. In Afghanistan they serve this for Eid. The name means elephant ear, which is a description of the shape of the pastry. I imagine that the way you say this is “Gooshy feel” as there are all different spellings on the internet: Gosh-e feel, gowsh-e fil, gush-e fil, goshe fil, and gosh fil.

The recipe I find is in ounces and not in cups. So I decide to go out and buy a scale. I figure that as I go through different countries It will not be possible to find some recipes in US measurements, so another purchase. I need a job now and not a hobby.

IMG_3690

 

I make the dough and it is really sticky, so I have to keep adding flour. I end up adding another 3/4 cup of flour to make this a dough. However I don’t mind. I’m feeling much more confident in dough, which I have always been scared of and I’m enjoying using Smurfette (my Kitchen Aid mixer).

The recipe says to roll out the dough but I found other recipes that suggest to go through the pasta roller. Liking the opportunity to use my new tools and so I felt I got my money’s worth, I opt for using my pasta rollers. I wasn’t sure the thickness of the roller, so I do a few tests frying different size dough’s and settle that the 3 setting is best. I finish rolling, shaping and flying. They do look like elephant ears.

IMG_3684 IMG_3685 IMG_3695 IMG_3701 IMG_3697

 

After frying them you are to dust them with powder sugar, pistachios, and cardamom. I mixed the 3 ingredients together thinking this was like a malasada (A Philippino doughnut) where you roll the cookie in the topping, but it is just supposed to be sprinkled on to on one side. Also it would be prettier if they are done separate. Oh well, I’m the only one who is going to see it and it is just going in my belly.

IMG_3703

 

I don’t really like sweets and so I don’t think you will see a lot of deserts on this blog, but I really enjoyed these. They are subtly sweet, which mainly comes from the powder sugar as there is only a teaspoon of sugar in the dough. The cardamom is a strong flavor and if you don’t like cardamom you can just skip it, but I am a fan of it and I think it makes the cookie unique. The dough reminds me of funnel cake and is best served quickly after frying. I think it would pair perfectly with tea.

Well this is the end of my journey with Afghanistan cuisine. I really enjoyed the food my favorites being Sabzi challow, Bolni, and Gosh-e Fil. I think though I would make all of it again.  I’m enjoying this hobby and surprised how much I am learning. I expected to learn a lot about the cultures, but I am more surprised to learn about ingredients and different cooking methods. Not to mention that I have a terribly inadequate kitchen, with all the new equipment I have to buy. Well my next stop on this adventure is Albania hopefully I won’t have to buy a new tool for every country!


 

Recipes

Gosh-e Fil

Original recipe can be found here

  • 2 cups  flour
  • pinch salt
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 heaping teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • neutral oil like corn or sunflower, for deep frying
  • 5 tablespoons powder sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cardamom
  • 5 tablespoons crushed unsalted pistachios, (about 70)
  • handful edible rose petals (optional, suggested if serving to guests as it looks yummy!)
  1. Sift  flour in a mixing bowl.
  2. Add a pinch of salt.
  3. In another bowl combine whisked eggs; cooled, melted butter; granulated sugar; and milk.
  4. Start mixing the flour and salt and slowly pour in egg mixture.
  5. If it is seems wet and sticky, slowly add flour from the reserve till it begins to bind well.
  6. Knead for 15 minutes.
  7. cover dough with a tea cloth or plastic wrap and allow to rest for 1 hour.
  8. Portion dough so that it can fit in a pasta roller. Remaining dough leave under the cloth.
  9. Roll dough through the 3 setting on your pasta roller.
  10. With a circular cookie cutter (size of your choice) cut out circles and pinch/pleat the sides with your thumb and forefinger so the circle resembles the ear of an elephant.
  11. Place on parchment paper as you shape them and cover with a tea cloth.
  12. Take the leftover scraps from the cookie cutter and knead it into the second portion of dough.
  13. Repeat the process of rolling out the dough and cutting out circles, as you did for the first portion.
  14. Place a wok on medium high heat with enough oil for deep frying. Test with a small piece of dough, if it floats freely to the top, the oil is ready.
  15. Fry the gosh-e-fil 3-4 at a time , 10-20 seconds on each side till golden brown. Keep transferring to a serving plate lined with  paper towels.
  16. Sprinkle hot gosh-e fil with icing sugar
  17. Sprinkle with cardamom powder
  18. Sprinkle with crushed pistachios
  19. Fry the next batch and repeat process.
  20. Slip paper towels from underneath the gosh-e fil
  21. Sprinkle plate with rose petals (optional)

 

Leave a Reply

