Bouranee Baunjan

Bouranee Baunjan is an eggplant dish that is served with a yogurt sauce.  This is a vegetarian dish, but not so healthy. The first thing you do after salting your egg plant is fry them in oil. The recipe doesn’t say how much, but says to put as much oil to create a nice base in the pan. I started with two tablespoon of oil. The first batch of eggplant just suck up all the oil. So to cook the next batch I add two tablespoons of oil. 4 batches later I am at 8 Tablespoons of oil!  I don’t think I want to eat that much oil. The recpie then explains that on resting the eggplants will release the oil and to put that back in the pan. I couldn’t do it I put them on the paper towel to drain the fat. I think I would just do the frying with cooking spray.

Fried eggplant

I added another Tablespoon of oilve oil and fry the onions. We are now at 9 tablespoons of oil. I think I will need to start working out to keep eating this food. Next step is to layer the ingredients in a pan. This was looking yummy.

Layered eggplant

 

The recipe said to add water, I went for vegetable stock to add more flavor. Then let it simmer for 10 minutes. While it cooked I made the yogurt sauce. The sauce requires Chaka, which is a drained yogurt. You can drain your yogurt for 11 hours and get the same result. I unfortunately didn’t have that kind of time. So I drained Greek yogurt for 2 hours, which basically did nothing.

The tomatoes didn’t look done, so I upped the heat a bit and did it for 5 more minutes. The tomatoes didn’t seem as stewed as I expected.  I made me a plate and then read a few more recipes that suggested a bit more seasoning and to bake it for 40 minutes. With the remaining eggplants I transferred to a baking dish, add some spices to the broth and put it in the oven for another 25 minutes.

IMG_3583

I ended up liking the first method better.  On the first method I think the eggplant was perfectly cooked, but I would like to add a bit more flavor and have my tomato cooked a bit more. The egg plant was over cooked on the second and there was way too much liquid. So I would probably roast the tomatoes a bit with the seasoning then cook as suggested. The flavor is strong egg plant and the yogurt is powerful. The green pepper and onions are subtle. Overall something I would make again.

IMG_3582

 


 

Recipes

Bouranee Baunjan

Original recipe can be found here

  • 4 medium eggplants
  • salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 tablespoon vegetable oil plus one teaspoon
  • 2 medium onions sliced
  • 2 green pepper seeded and sliced in rings
  • 2 large ripe tomatoes peeled and sliced
  • ¼ teaspoon hot Chile peppers
  • ¼ cup vegetable stock
  • Cooking spray
  • Cilantro
  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. In a baking dish add tomato slices, 1/4 teaspoon of salt, pepper, and coriander.
  3. Bake tomatoes for about 30 minutes until cooked, but still maintaining their shape.
  4. Cut the stems from the eggplants and leave peel.
  5. Slice into 1 cm pieces.
  6. Spread on a tray and sprinkle slices liberally with salt.
  7. Leave for 30 minutes, then dry well with paper towels.
  8. Spray cooking spray in a skillet with a lid
  9. Fry eggplant until lightly browned on each side.
  10. Do not cook completely.
  11. Lift onto a plate.
  12. Add more cooking spray for remaining slices.
  13. Add a tablespoon of oil to the pan and add onions.
  14. Fry gently till translucent.
  15. Remove to another plate.
  16. Add a teaspoon of oil to the pan.
  17. Place a layer of eggplant back into the pan.
  18. Top with some sliced onion, green pepper rings and tomato slices.
  19. Repeat using remaining ingredients and adding a little salt and the chile between layers.
  20. Pour in any remaining oil and juices from the tomato dish.
  21. Add any remaining onions, vegetable stock and turmeric, cover and simmer gently for 10 – 15 minutes.
  22. Spread chakah ingredients spread half the sauce into base of serving dish.
  23. Top with vegetables, lifting eggplant gently to keep slices intact.
  24. Leave some of the juices in the pan.
  25. Top vegetables with the rest of the chakah and drizzle the remaining juices over it.
  26. Sprink some cilntro as garnish
  27. Serve with flat bread.

Chakah

Original recipe can be found here

  • Cheese cloth
  • 2 cups drained yogurt
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • salt to taste
  1. In a colinder put 4 layers of cheese cloth
  2. With a bowl under the cloinder place it in the fridge for 11 hours.
  3. Discard liquid and place yorget in a bowl
  4. Mix together all remaining  ingredents
Leave a Reply

