Afghanistan

The next stop on my culinary journey is Afghanistan. Most people have heard of it especially due to recent wars there. It is a landlocked country in central and south Asia. It boarders Pakistan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and China.

af-map

The cuisine is influenced by the areas that are sounding it with tastes of Persian, Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean. Onions, tomato, Chakah (drained yogurt), saffron, cinnamon, cloves, cardamon, and leeks are common ingredients in Afghanistan cuisine. Thank god no walnuts!

Living in the bay area there is a large Afghanistan community here and lots of restaurants. One restaurant near my old work is called Kabul. I have been going their for years and we often cater company events from the restaurant. The kebabs are amazing and my favorite is a Kofta Kebab. However I recently made this and part of the challenge is not only to explore the region, but push me to learn new culinary techniques and things I haven’t tried before. They do have this lamb dumpling in a yogurt sauce called mantu, which I also enjoy, so I’m set to make that. So the dishes I have picked to make this week are:

 

 

Leave a Reply

