Apyrpylchapa

My next dish is Apyrpylchapa, which is a walnut stuffed pepper. After my experience with Abkhazian chicken I was nervous about this dish.  However this calls for the Adjika to be added to the walnut mixture, so maybe it won’t be too bad.

The recipe for Apyrpylchapa required summer red peppers. I didn’t see any at my local store, so just opted for red bell peppers.  The recipe required that the peppers be marinated, but not cooked. I thought I would also try and see if I parboiled one of the peppers and the other one leave raw. I preferred the parboiled pepper.

Marinated red peppers

The walnut filling recipe called for fresh green coriander. On research this is cilantro, I would have never known the seeds taste so different to me. I toasted the walnuts and I think I added a touch to much salt. The mixture was spicy with a hint of the Adjika flavor, so I would suggest adding more.

 

Walnut mixture

 

Combined with the marinated peppers it was a tangy spicy treat. It was a bit too spicy for me.  I ended up having to grab some Bryndza cheese to cool off my mouth. The recipe called for a tablespoon of cayenne pepper, which seems too much. I would cut that down. All in all the dish has a lot of potential.

Apyrpylchapa

 

 


 

Recipes

Apyrpylchapa

The original recipe can be found here

  • 6 large, sweet red peppers
  • 1 cup walnuts, toasted
  • 2 tbs Adjika
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 tsp  cayenne pepper
  • 4 tbs white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbs oilve oil
  • 5 tbs pomegranate juice
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  1. Thinly slice 1 clove of garlic and add to a pan on medium high heat, together with 1 bay leaf, 1 level tsp of cayenne pepper, 1 tsp of sugar, and 1 tsp of salt. cook for about 30 seconds.
  2. Add 2 tbs of oil, 5 tbs of white wine vinegar (or pomegranate juice) and 200 ml of water. Bring to the boil. Cook for about 1 minute.
  3. Slice the peppers in half and remove the seeds.
  4. Parboil the peppers for 5 minutes
  5. Pour marinade and peppers in a ziplock bag for at least 1 hour.
  6. Finely chop the fresh cilantro and garlic and add to a mortar. Crush and pound the herbs and garlic.
  7. Grind the walnuts and chop the onion. Add to a bowl, together with the crushed coriander/parsley/garlic, cayenne ( add more if not spicy enough), 2 tbs of adjika, and salt. Add 4 tbs of white wine vinegar, and 1/4 of water and mix thoroughly.
  8. Once the red peppers have marinated for sufficient time, spread the filling on each slice of pepper.
  9. Garnished with a little cilantro

 

Leave a Reply

