Abkhazia

I decided to use a Wikipedia page of sovereign states. There are 206 states listed, so this project will take me about 4 years to complete. Did I find a hobby or a job?

It’s disputed whether this first country is even a country: Abkhazia. It is a region of Georgia on the eastern coast of the Black Sea.  It is only recognized by Russia, Nauru, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nagorno-Karabakh, South Ossetia and Transnistria (which probably isn’t a country either). So in picking this I wasn’t so sure that it was a great idea as there was a fairly recent nasty war and tensions are still high with Georgia. However, being slightly stubborn, and reading about the cuisine I decided to start here.

abkhazia

The first thing that struck me is the wine making history. They have found wine making artifacts dating back to 3000-2000 BC. Their Prince Nicolas Achba is considered to be the founder of modern commercial wine making. But most importantly they prefer red wine. I may pop into a wine store and see if I can find a bottle from the area.

Thankfully my research found that their food is much more interesting than boiled unsalted cornmeal. The Abkhazian cuisine is really just a regional style of Georgian food. They are heavily influenced on the local produce and animals of the area, so corn, walnuts, cheese, dill, and cilantro are common ingredients.  Majority of their dishes and sauces are spicy. They have a condiment, Adjika, which is added to a majority of their dishes.

So for the journey this week I have chosen to make :

Yes I did notice that all the dishes start with an A, which was not intentional.

Leave a Reply

